This is a past event. Registration is closed. View other IPI Professional Network events.
Save the date
Save the dateJanuary 23, 20248:00 PM - 9:00 PM (GMT+8)
Organizer
Organizer
Contact Person: Lisa So
Event Details
Event Details

London & Hong Kong Beware: The UAE is coming for your Crown Jewels

Speakers: Charles der Kinderen (The GCC Club), Filippo Buzzi (Hex Trust),

Oscar Orellana-Hyder (Cordell Partners), Bryan Stirewalt (EY)


In recent years, major players in the finance industry have been establishing operations and relocating to the UAE. Attracted by business-friendly policies, political and economic stability, advanced infrastructure, and access to global markets, leading investment banks like Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, and Credit Suisse have set up regional headquarters in Dubai.


In addition, Sovereign Wealth Funds like Mubadala and Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, managing over $1 trillion in assets, are building up the UAE's investment ecosystem. Prominent players in sectors like private equity, hedge funds, digital assets and family offices have also made the Emirates their home base to tap into new opportunities.


But it's not all plain sailing. The different approaches and requirements of the 7 emirates which make up the elective kingdom can be confusing. Only 12% of the population are citizens, meaning companies in the UAE need to manage a workforce of primarily ex-pats. Human Rights organisations criticise the country. And temperatures exceed 40C in the summer...


We've asked our four panelists to help us understand the UAE landscape and give us insights into the pros and cons of relocating your business or yourself to the UAE. Please join us to discuss:

  • The different freezones, DIFC, ADGM and VARA
  • The Digital Assets, Single Family Offices, Hedge Funds and Private Equity environments
  • Recruitment and lifestyle considerations


RSVP Now! Please use the IPI Professional Network membership to reserve your own free spot, or email lisa.so@ipi-edu.com for more information.

Agenda
Agenda
  • 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM

    London & Hong Kong Beware: The UAE is coming for your Crown Jewels

    London & Hong Kong Beware: The UAE is coming for your Crown Jewels

07:00 NYT / 12:00 UKT / 16:00 UAE / 20:00 HKT (GMT+8)


07:00 Cayman Islands / 12:00 Iceland / 12:00 Ireland, Portugal

13:00 Luxembourg / 15:00 Russia / 17:30 India

20:00 Singapore, Malaysia / 21:00 Tokyo, Korea / 23:00 Sydney


Please Note:-

  • ​This session will be run via Zoom. You don't need a Zoom account to join the meeting but it may help to save time if you already have one. You can sign up for a basic free account here - zoom.us.
  • The session will begin on time, so please join the meeting 5 minutes before the start time to test your audio/video components, then take the opportunity to chat with old and new friends. This webinar will last for an hour.
  • A "Waiting Room" has been set up. Please check in with your registered name - that will shorten the waiting time before you are admitted to the meeting room.
  • To avoid noise interruption, please mute your audio once the host or speaker begins, but feel free to unmute yourself during the Q&A session.
  • The session will be recorded, so if you choose to turn on your video, you may be seen in the recording occasionally.
  • We recommend that you join the event from your laptop/iPad/tablet to enjoy a bigger viewing screen.
  • This session qualifies for CPT, certificate is available upon request following the event to apply for CPT hours, subject to your firm's approval.



Speakers
Speakers
  • Charles der Kinderen (CEO of The GCC Club)

    Charles der Kinderen

    CEO of The GCC Club

  • Filippo Buzzi (Regional Director MENA of Hex Trust)

    Filippo Buzzi

    Regional Director MENA of Hex Trust

  • Oscar Orellana-Hyder (Co-Founder of Cordell Partners)

    Oscar Orellana-Hyder

    Co-Founder of Cordell Partners

  • Bryan Stirewalt (MENA Financial Services Regulatory Leader at EY)

    Bryan Stirewalt

    MENA Financial Services Regulatory Leader at EY

Documents
Documents
    Sponsors and Partners
    Sponsors and Partners
    Community
    Community

    Connect with 103 people attending this event

    Tickets
    Tickets

    IPIPN Member

    Member Price Complimentary

    Non-IPIPN Member

    Non-member Ticket Price: US$20.00

    Note: An IPI Professional Network Membership will bring you many benefits like free sign-up to our regular IPIPN Speaker Series Webinars for 12 months. To learn more about IPIPN community & member's benefits - https://www.ipi-edu.com/What-Is-The-IPI-Professional-Network

    HKD 150
    $20